The Best Hamburger In New Orleans

11 Oct

I told myself that once I passed the halfway mark on this weight loss journey that I would celebrate by eating the best hamburger in New Orleans.  I’ve past the mark and I’m ready to keep my word.  The only problem is that I’m not satisfied that I really know where to get the best burger in town.  Some people have told me that the best place is Port of Call while others have told me that it’s Camellia Grill.  As of late, I’ve even had votes for the Blue Tomato and the River Shack.  So, I’m going to let you decide.  I’ll take in all of the responses I get from the blog replies, Facebook, Twitter, and Google+ and eat a burger from the winner sometime this coming weekend.  I’ll let everyone know the answer in tomorrow night’s blog.

Here’s what I’ve eaten today:

1 Snackwell’s Protein Meal Bar

1 Special K Protein Meal Bar

1 grilled chicken sandwich on whole wheat sandwich rounds with fat free cheese and lettuce

1 apple

1 serving of lowfat blueberry yogurt with fresh blackberries

2 grilled chicken soft tacos on corn tortillas with fat free cheese

72 oz of water

Supplements I’ve taken today:

1 Fish Oil Pill

1 Multi Vitamin

Exercise:

42 minutes of walking

15 pushups

Note To My Friends:  If you would like to receive this blog daily in your email, consider following me on this weight loss journey.  To do so, click on the follow button in the right hand corner of your screen.  Thanks a bunch.

7 Responses to “The Best Hamburger In New Orleans”

  1. smbarr October 12, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Port of Call….hands down.

  2. Faith October 12, 2011 at 4:00 am #

    Lee’s Hamburger is the best in my book in New Orleans. 😀 Keep up the good work.

    • johnfrady October 12, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks, Faith. It’s been a long time since I’ve been there. I’ll have to try them again sometime.

  3. David Winston October 12, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Best burger in town: my house! Seriously, homemade burgers are best because you can make them however you want.

    • johnfrady October 12, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

      Okay, Dave. You’re in the running. So far, everyone has named a different burger place, so you’re tied for first.

  4. Karl October 12, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    I live within a mile of River Shack, John, but have never eaten their burger. I have eaten burgers from the following: Port of Call, Flamin Burger, Lee’s Burgers, Winston’s Pub, and “my house”.

    Recently I ate at Ruby Tuesdays in Slidell. Twice within a month. Going back soon.

    So my vote would be Ruby Tuesday’s. They have one in Slidell and one in Baton Rouge.
    They do NOT freeze their hamburger meat.

    I make my burger at home the same way. No frozen ground meat for me. I make a one and one half pound burger and put onions and green peppers with a little salt and Worchestershire Sauce in the meat before frying. Then I apply Jack Daniels Bar-b-que sauce to the burger between two slices of 9 grain bread. Are you hungry yet?

    • Karl October 12, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      I also ate a burger at the Blue Tomatoe. e in Tomato like e in Potato. My hero Dan Quayle. He was correct, but didn’t receive credit.

Leave a comment