Lose It

23 Jun

This past Monday, a friend of mine told me about a weight loss app called “Lose It.”  It sounded intriguing so I checked it out and I’ve been trying it out since that day.  Basically, you program in your weight and height and the amount of weight you would like to lose by a particular date.  It tells you the amount of calories safe for you to eat each day and still meet your goal.  You enter all of your food consumption and exercise output trying your best to keep it all even.

For the first few days, I managed to keep my caloric intake low.  However, yesterday I was on a staff retreat where I ate entirely too much.  When I looked at the app around 7 PM, I was shocked to see that I was 700 calories over my limit for the day.  It took me 30 Minutes of Walking, 10 minutes of stretching, and 45 Minutes on the Elliptical Machine to burn in off.

I did somewhat better today.  I ended up only 4 calories under my limit.  I’m not sure if I’m going to continue to use the Lose It App or not, but one thing is for sure.  It has certainly kept me on my toes.

Here’s What I Had To Eat Today (Keep in mind that I was on a retreat)

1 Waffle with sugar free syrup

1 Serving of Sugar Free Yogurt

2 Servings of Pork Tenderloin Salad

1 Wheat Dinner Roll

1 Serving of Sugar Free Jello

2 Servings of Coca-Cola

1 McDouble Hamburger

92 Ounces of Water

My Exercise Today:

40 Minutes of Exercise Swimming

80 Minutes of Walking

10 Minutes of Stretching

Ok, so today I had to exercise extra as well.

 

One Response to “Lose It”

  1. Brian Milby June 24, 2012 at 2:07 am #

    I’ve been using this app for over a year. I’m maintaining at this point, but did value the objective numbers approach to controlling what I ate (as much about awareness as actually limiting).

Leave a Reply

